

The N.S.W. Junior Chess League invites your school to enter the

34rd Annual PRIMARY SCHOOLS CHESS TEAMS COMPETITION, 2025 (HUNTER REGION)

The competition is for teams of four players, conducted in three Grades.



KINGS - **For your best players**. All schools that have fielded teams in previous years should consider entering their strongest team in this grade.

Kings are confident and successful when playing games at school. They can plan moves further ahead, and are good at exploiting their opponent's mistakes.

If they have a chess rating, the team's average rating is probably 400 or more.

The Kings competition proceeds through a Regional Final to the Regional winner which then plays against other Country region winners, with the Country Champion team playing in the State Final.



KNIGHTS - **For players with some previous experience**. This grade should be the one with the biggest entry.

Please consider this grade for your 'average' players and leave the Rookies grade for beginners and younger players.

This Grade ends at a Regional Finals Day where local Zone winners get together to play each other.

ROOKIES - Strictly for beginners.

These teams *MUST NOT include* Year 5 or 6 students who have played in this competition in previous years.

This Grade ends at a Regional Finals Day where local Zone winners get together to play each other.



"Home" and "Away" matches used to be held against local area schools during terms 2 and 3

HOWEVER - Increasingly, schools have found it more convenient to get together in one location and play these matches on one day (or two half days). Please consider the required amount of space needed for you to host such a day, as the space available will put a limit on the number of teams you could host.

Any suggestions from you are welcome.

Schools may enter more than one team in Rookies and/or Knights grade.

Back in the 1990s all entries came in by post, changing to faxes in the 2000s. Today's communication makes greater use of the internet - a trend we would like to encourage! While the post can still be used, using the internet has several advantages - in particular, entries come directly to the organisers and can be acknowledged promptly.

The different ways you can enter are described on the back of the entry form.

An online entry is available on the JCL website.

If using this, please use the one for **Hunter Region** rather than the other one. *There are some differences*.

The closing date for entries in the HUNTER REGION is Friday 21 March 2025

This is so that I can get the draw out to schools by the end of this term, please enter on time.

www.nswjcl.org.au

Past Winners

Γ	"Kings"	"Knights"	"Rookies"
1992	New Lambton*		St Joseph's Charlestown
1993	New Lambton South*		Blackalls Park
1994	New Lambton South*	New Lambton South	St Brigid's Raymond Terrace
1995	New Lambton South	Bonnells Bay	Hamilton South
1996	New Lambton	New Lambton South =	Wyee
		St Joseph's Charlestown	
1997	New Lambton	Jewells	Wyee
1998	New Lambton	Wyee	Wyee
1999	New Lambton	Floraville	Charlestown East
			= Merewether
2000	New Lambton*	New Lambton	Eleebana
2001	The Junction*	Eleebana	Eleebana
2002	The Junction*	New Lambton South	Charlestown East
2003	The Junction	St Joseph's Charlestown	Booragul
2004	The Junction*	Avondale	St Benedict's Edgeworth
2005	Avondale	Avondale	New Lambton South
2006	New Lambton	St Joseph's Charlestown	St Philip's Waratah
		= New Lambton South	
2007	Avondale	Avondale	St Philip's Waratah
2008	The Junction	New Lambton South	St Philip's Waratah
2009	The Junction*	Telarah	St Philip's Waratah
2010	Telarah	St Philip's Waratah	St Philip's Waratah
2011	St Philip's Waratah	New Lambton	St Philip's Waratah
		= Avondale	
2012	New Lambton	Singleton Heights	Avondale
2013	New Lambton South	New Lambton South	Newcastle Grammar
2014	New Lambton South*	Newcastle Grammar	Denman =
			Singleton Heights
2015	New Lambton South*	Avondale	St Philip's Waratah
2016	New Lambton South	Newcastle Grammar	Newcastle Grammar
2017	Avondale	Avondale	St Philip's Waratah
2018	Newcastle Grammar	Newcastle Grammar	St Philip's Waratah
2019	Newcastle Grammar	Tighes Hill	Avondale
2020	(not held)	(not held)	(not held)
2021	The competition began, but Covid intervened		
2022	(not held)	Tighes Hill	Avondale =
			St Mary's Warners Bay
2023	New Lambton South*	Tighes Hill	Adamstown
2024	New Lambton South*	New Lambton	Kurri Kurri

 $^{^{\}ast}$ $\,$ indicates that the School's team was also NSW Country Champion.