Metropolitan Secondary Schools Competition

Primary and Secondary
Schools Competitions
are sponsored by

GBA Capital

a stockbroking and
capital markets firm.

The NSWJCL is grateful
to GBA Capital for its
generous support
of our competitions.



The NSW Junior Chess League’s Metropolitan Secondary Schools Competition is a teams competition for secondary schools in the Sydney Metropolitan area, the Central Coast and the Blue Mountains. (The rest of the state is covered by a separate Country Secondary Schools Competition.)

In most areas matches are scheduled on a weekly home-and-away basis and are played on Fridays after school, but may be played at other times by arrangement between the schools. However, on the Central Coast and in South-West Sydney the competition will be held in one-day format, with the teams meeting at a central venue and playing all their matches in one day.

The competition, which is for teams of four players, is played in three separate Grades:

  • Junior Grade (school years 7 and 8 only)

  • Intermediate Grade (school years 9 and 10 only)

  • Senior Grade (school years 11 and 12 only)

Schools are divided into four regions (Metropolitan East, North, West and South-West) and, where necessary, teams are allocated to divisions within these regions (to minimise travel). Each division tournament is conducted as a round robin. The division winners proceed to knock-out finals to determine the region champions. These region champions then compete in knock-out inter-region finals to determine the overall competition winners for each grade. The division tournaments are held in second term (and if necessary early in third term) and the finals take place in third term.

An invitation and entry form are sent to all secondary schools in the area covered at the beginning of first term (in February). They are available on this website now (go back to the previous page and click on this competition's "Entry Details")

For further details see the other web pages for this competition (Rules, Resources, Results, etc.) or contact the Secondary Schools Coordinator, Richard Gastineau-Hills, phone 9498 2760, mobile 0403 962 442, email

Australian Schools Teams Championships:  The Australian Schools Teams Championships will be held on the first weekend of December in four divisions (Secondary Open and Girls, Primary Open and Girls). In most states the secondary schools competitions produce overall winners which thereby qualify to represent those states in the national event. In NSW, however, our Secondary Schools competition is divided into three separate grades based on school year and there is no single winning secondary team. A separate process is therefore necessary to select the NSW Secondary Open team, which may contain players from any secondary year (7 to 12). To be eligible for selection the school must have played in the Secondary Schools Competition and all members of the team must have played in at least 50% of the preliminary (pre-finals) rounds of the Secondary Schools Competition or in certain major tournaments (for details see NSW Qualification). If necessary, a play-off match or matches will be conducted between nominated teams. A similar procedure will be used to determine the school to represent NSW in the Secondary Girls division of the championships.

Schools wishing to nominate a team to be considered for selection as either the NSW Open or NSW Girls team should make their interest known to the Secondary Schools Coordinator before the end of second term. The selection (including any play-offs) should be completed by the end of third term to enable the selected teams to make their travel arrangements and prepare for the national championships.