Secondary Schools One-Day Tournament


The Secondary Schools
One-Day Tournament
is sponsored by Terrey Shaw's former colleagues and friends in the legal profession and in the chess community.

The NSWJCL's Secondary Schools One-Day Tournament is an annual event for secondary schools teams. It is held in two divisions Junior (school years 7 to 9) and Open (school years 7 to 12). The winning team in the Open Division is awarded a perpetual trophy, the Terrey Shaw Shield, named after International Master Terrey Shaw (1946-1997), who was for many years one of Australia's leading players and a keen supporter of the NSWJCL. He represented Australia in nine consecutive Chess Olympiads, winning a gold medal at the 1972 Olympiad.

Schools are invited to send teams of three players and multiple teams from the one school will be accepted if numbers permit. The tournament attracts a large number of teams of varying strengths and is therefore an ideal introduction for schools and players new to competitive chess. Inexperienced players are advised to read the Summary of Rules of Competitive Chess available on this website (see "Rules").

Full details and an entry form are available on this website (see "Entry Details") and will also be posted several weeks before the event to secondary schools in the Sydney metropolitan and nearby areas and to some country schools.